2020 Kansas Junior Golf Scholars

May 1, 2020


Kansas Golf Foundation Scholarships Awarded to Seven Junior Golfers

Lawrence, KS. – Kansas Golf Foundation has awarded college scholarships to seven junior golfers for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Five rising college freshmen have been named Kansas Junior Golf Scholars. Those students will receive a grant each of the next four years.

The 2020 Kansas Junior Golf Scholars and the colleges they will be attending next year are:

            Brielle Bange (Colby) – Ft. Hays State University

            Rebecca Donaldson (Berryton) – Kansas State University

            Casey Gritton (Manhattan) – Kansas State University

            Andrew Haselhuhn (Burlington) – University of Kansas

            Jordan Rowse (Shawnee) – Johnson County Community College

This year’s class joins 15 Junior Golf Scholars from previous years whose scholarships are being renewed. 

The Foundation also has awarded two KWGA Memorial Scholarships. 2020 marks the third year of the KWGA Memorial Scholarship, which serves to continue the Kansas Women's Golf Association Scholarship awarded by KWGA from 1991 through 2017.

The 2020 KWGA Memorial Scholars are:

Anh-Dao Do (Piper) – University of Kansas

Hanna Hawks (Wellington) – University of Kansas

Notes to Editors:      

About Kansas Golf Foundation and its scholarship programs

Kansas Golf Foundation was formed in 1991 and its Mission is “Promote the Future and Preserve the History of Golf in Kansas”.  In addition to its scholarship programs, the Foundation operates the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame to honor Kansas men and women who have made outstanding contributions to the game of golf or who are distinguished by their outstanding accomplishments as players.

Since 2005, Kansas Golf Foundation has awarded the Kansas Junior Golf Scholarship to 80 junior golfers who have attended 25 different Kansas colleges and universities. Any Kansas high school student who has participated in organized junior golf may apply, although golf skill is not considered in making the selections.  The scholarship is awarded based on academic performance, community service and leadership, financial need, and an essay. Scholars must attend a Kansas college or university.

The KWGA Memorial Scholarship award is based on academic performance, character, community service and leadership, golf participation, and the student’s essay about how the game of golf has influenced the applicant. The award is given annually to one or more Kansas high school seniors or graduates of a Kansas high school already attending college.

More information:

            Phil Miller, Executive Director

            Kansas Golf Foundation

            [email protected]